The PostCode Directory

The Postcode Directory


Welcome to the postcode directory, for information about any postcode in the United Kingdom. Postcodes were introduced into the UK in 1959 to aid sorting and delivery of post using the Royal Mail (the General Post Office as it was known back then). The use of postcodes has broadened significantly over the years, with modern uses as diverse as classifying insurance premiums to instructing satellite navigation systems.

Postcodes consist of two identifiers separated by a space. For example, SW1A 0AA is the postcode for the House of Commons. The first identifier is termed the "outward code", whilst the second identifier is termed the "inward code".

Postcode Areas

Postcode areas are the highest level of a postcode. A postcode consists of one or two letters and is the first part of the outward code. These often designate a city but do not necessarily have to (e.g. SW is the southwest part of London).

To see all the Postcode Areas in the United Kingdom, click here.


Postcode Districts

Postcodes are further sub-divided into districts. The district is the latter part of the outward code and consists of 1 digits, 2 digits, 1 digits plus a letter or 2 digits plus a letter.

To see all the Postcode Districts in the United Kingdom, click here.

Postcode Sector

The first number of the inward code identifier the postcode sector when combined with the postcode area and district. For example, SW1A 0 is the postcode sector for the House of Commons.

Postcode Unit

The postcode unit is the remainder of the postcode and usually consists of two letters. This narrows the postcode down to a small geographical area, usually a street or part of a street.

Postcode Search

To search for information about any postcode in the UK, use the search box at the top of the page.